Skip to content

Why I Stealth

May 13, 2012

Cutting the Kings

I stealth…

  • so they don’t know what hit them.
  • so I can get my objectives done with a minimum of fuss.
  • so that Fel Reaver doesn’t think I’m a snack.
  • because one more holiday achievement means I have to hang out in Stormwind again.
  • because telegraphing your next move is for idiots.
  • because the tension of possibly being caught is exciting.  Yes, I realize this makes me sound like I have a criminal bent.
  • because there are just too many mobs some days.
  • because even if I’m under-level for the content,  I can usually get through.
  • because I couldn’t give a rat’s ass to make the Timbermaw Furbolgs happy.
  • because the sound effect in WoW feels like a warm, cozy blanket of they-won’t-kill-me-first.
  • because sometimes I just need to get to an inn without devastating the countryside to get there.

But most of all, I stealth because it is purely fun.  I like that it slows the pace of the game down, that it converts a fast-paced kill-them-all environment to a quiet, strategic maneuver.  I love things that exploit changes in dynamic range like that (loud/soft, quick/slow, bear/cat), it’s a single button press that alters how you experience the game.

Any class, on any game, which provides stealth gets my attention first.  That’s become my most favorite aspect of MMOs.  As a father of two, I have limited time to dedicate to gaming, so I want to get in and out and do what  I need without committing multiple hours to the game.  Stealthing allows me to play in a manner that fits with my life.

From → Cat, Druid, Rogue, WoW

3 Comments
  1. battlechicken permalink

    Hahaha, those are all very valid reasons for stealthing! My favorite is that the sound effect is a “warm, cozy blanket of they-won’t-kill-me-first.” Interestingly, two of my three current favorite classes to play are stealth-enabled classes. I don’t think that’s coincidence at all; stealth is strategic and thoughtful and fun.

    Nice post, thanks!

  2. Love it! I think my favourite has to be, “So that the Fel Reaver doesn’t think I’m a snack.” Ahh, the memories of being rofl-stomped by that guy…

    I just love stealth because it means I’m not *that guy* who pulls the trash in End Time on the way to Cairne! Thanks for reminding me of some of the many reasons I love being a druid so much :)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Week 3 Challenge: What’s My Main Again? | Tastes Like Battle Chicken

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

